I might be getting better at this

I scrimmaged today for the first time in a while. I was out of town last weekend, and I’ve had a pretty easy week, skate-wise–practice was cancelled on Thursday, and my awesome boyfriend wanted to go to the adult jam skate on Tuesday, but not much besides–so other than High Rollers practice on Monday, it’d been a good while since I’d had any serious-business derby skating.

When I got to the hangar, I wasn’t exactly feeling 100%–I’ve been weirdly tired and achy for most of the week–but once we got into the scrimmaging, I did actually have some pretty excellent jams. There were blockers trying to pick me off like crazy when I was jamming, but even though I felt like I was tiring out quickly, I still got around them. And as a blocker, I might’ve even (gasp!) delivered some useful hits in the pack. Usually, when players on the sidelines are yelling, “HIT SOMEBODY!” I’m one of the people they’re yelling at, so hitting stuff with purpose feels pretty awesome, for a change.

Don’t get me wrong, though: it was far from a perfect day. My ass was parked in the penalty box, uh, a LOT. I opened my first jam with a gigantic back-block (oops), but with the others, I was at least taking a few risks. For that two hours, though, I felt competent more often than not. I’m probably one of the least-experienced skaters on Fresh Meat, so it’s pretty excellent to feel like I can hold my own and be a force. 🙂

I’m not the best Meat yet, but I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

