All’s Quiet

In my effort to not obsess about draft, I got a bit quiet over here.

First, on a 100%-positive note: First Friday went pretty swimmingly. My clients make some amazing stuff, and I love love love that. I’m grateful and blessed to have them working with me.

On a less-than-happy note, last Thursday was not my day. Then again, it wasn’t the day for a lot of people… a surprising number of us, in fact. The few people who did get drafted were shoo-ins, as far as I could tell, but man, we had a strong field, and there were a few ladies left in the pool whom I thought would be picked up for sure. Not that I’m an expert, or anything, but I think a lot of us were surprised that more roster spots weren’t filled.

I’m also a little surprised at how much I don’t feel defeated. I was actually feeling pretty decent about things, after sleeping on it, and I have a pretty good idea of what I need to keep working on. It was my first time being draft-eligible, and we had a strong pool to choose from. And busting my ass these past few months hasn’t been for nothing, because my game *did* get better. So hey, as long as more work equals more improvement, I’m down for putting in the time.

What I DO feel bad about? Wanting to throw myself into another round of ass-kicking, only to be forced into resting by two things:

A) having some cold/flu from Saturday night through Monday, when I totally wanted to go out there and attack Sunday endurance.
B) skating last night–admittedly while still low on energy from being sick–and busting up my ankle during the last two minutes of practice.

Hopefully a metric ton of RICE will get my ankle back in fighting shape in the next couple of days. I do have a way of going all crazypants when I can’t do the active stuff I usually like to do.

P.S. I am totally going to the gym today. Only upper-body and core exercises, though, I promise. 😉

Leave a Reply

