Love this, hate that.

I have a strange attachment to our 2nd hour of endurance at the Oaks rink. Something about that silky-smooth floor, and the beautiful simplicity of skating fast makes me a happy panda. I can push myself as hard as I can physically, and nothing else gets in the way.

I’ve heard more than a few skaters mutter that endurance is their least-favorite thing, but even when I feel like I’m doing an un-stellar job at it (which was sort of the case today, being my first day back at Oaks after a few weeks out with sickness and ankle issues), I still love it.

When I think about it, I seem to enjoy a lot of things that other skaters hate with an undying, fiery passion. (see also: off-skates training) I guess I’m a special kind of crazy.

Leave a Reply

