Thankfulness

Yeah, I should’ve written this closer to Thanksgiving. Life got in the way, but better late than never, right?

The circumstances under which I’m doing this are sometimes terrifying, but I am, finally, working for myself full-time, and doing things that I believe in and am passionate about. I’m helping the local economy, I’m helping people do amazing things, and the future looks pretty bright.

I have great friends. Every so often, some combination of mood, circumstance, and a “just because,” get-together reminds me that, no matter what happens, they’ll be there, and no matter how awful things may seem, they will always feel like home.

Fate or whatever else conspired to have Joe and I cross paths. We went on our first date almost a year ago (whoof) and he is hilarious, enthusiastic, considerate, driven, thoughtful, and generally awesome in a billion other ways.

I have family that cares about each other, and cares about me. Even if the latter can sometimes manifest in crazy-making ways, it still comes from the right places, and I’m fortunate to have that.

I feel thankful every time I see someone I care about and respect have the good things that they deserve come to them. It doesn’t happen anywhere near often enough, but when it does, I’m immensely happy to see it.

I’m thankful for derby, because it came along at just the right time, and it continues to be the fun kind of challenge. I can’t wait to attack this beast again after my ankle sprain heals. I’m also equally thankful that I’m strong and fit, and that my injuries have been minor, and that I have the know-how to help myself heal.

That’s all I can think of, but hey, it’s the important stuff. In the meantime, I have a splitting headache, and it’s effin’ cold outside. But, still, ONE MORE WEEK, jeebus willing. Healing vibes!

Leave a Reply

