IT ARE MY BIRFDAY

Well, technically, my birthday was on Friday, but yes, I’m older now. Not that you’d know it by looking at me–I rode my bike to the hangar yesterday, scrimmaged, and then hauled ass on my bike up to the Convention Center for a dose of Stumptown Comics Fest in the afternoon. Apparently, I’m a hell of a lot more active and fun at 32 than I was at 22.

To celebrate, I also got re-acquainted with the mad genius baker that lives in my brain and baked my own birthday cake–vegan chocolate cake with vegan coconut buttercream and topped with chocolate ganache.

I’d never made a cake with multiple layers before, so that felt like a pretty epic achievement. In the meantime,  also made a double-batch of my own creation: Peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-BACON cookies.

I brought 36 of those bad boys to the Comicsfest and they disappeared in just over an hour. I wish I’d had my professional camera, instead of my iPhone, to take a proper photo of these things.

So, yeah. Baking, hanging out with some of my favorite people, playing derby, enjoying the sun… life is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

