I’m Mutated!

A thing I may or may not have alluded to in previous posts was an ongoing struggle with low energy–not just in derby, but on a day-to-day basis in normal life. Exhaustion is something that’s always been at least somewhat of a factor in my life, even before I got into athletics. I’ve been able to push through it a lot of the time, but it’s not easy.

I spent a lot of time over many years wondering, “why am I so tired?” because I do take reasonably good care of myself. I didn’t have an explanation for it, though, so I just assumed that I was asking too much of myself in a given day, and tried to scale things back as best I could.

My super-awesome acupuncturist/naturopath, however, did some blood testing, and found that there might actually be a reason for the constant tiredness–namely, that I’m anemic. We looked at the usual causes–low iron, low B12 or folate–and none of those applied. My iron, B12, and folate levels were all great, but I still came up anemic on every test.

After even MORE testing, we finally have the answer: I have a gene mutation that makes me unable to methylate. Basically, that means that my body isn’t very good at converting the iron, B12, and folate into an active form that it can actually use. Methylating is important to maintaining your energy levels, so not being able to methylate means being tired all the time!

Weirdly enough, this is great news–it means that a thing I didn’t think I could control is actually fixable. All it should take is some active B-Complex supplements, and those will arrive in a week or so.

I’m sort of tempted to go around calling myself a Mutant, because I’d join the X-Men without a second thought, except that this? Basically the worst superpower ever.

It’s solvable, though. So, hey, that’s progress.

Leave a Reply

