It’s Happening!

So, yeah, I’ve been quiet. The holidays, the flu, and a whole mess-load of work have been kicking my butt over the past several weeks. I feel fortunate to have survived the madness.

BUT! I am officially on the roster for the Season Opener! OMJESUS. Being one of the newest skaters to the team, I wasn’t exactly certain I would make the roster, but I’m on it. The reality of that hasn’t completely sunk in yet, and it probably won’t until 5 minutes before intros–I still have to remind myself every so often that, yes, in less than a week’s time, I’ll be skating in my first bout with my team.

I also got my team uniform last week. I probably should’ve gone a size larger, but eh, I still love the thing, and I can skate in it.

Transitions can sometimes be pretty jarring, when you skate with a league like Rose City. In a small league, you might show up, learn to skate, and be thrown into your first bout with your new team in the span of a few short months. The size of the venue, the loudness, the intensity will probably not be so massive–you’re most likely in a smaller town, with a smaller population, so the scale adjusts accordingly. You’re playing just as hard, of course. You just haven’t been doing it as long.

Here at RCR, you could be grinding away at skills and drills in the Fresh Meat pool for the better part of a year, or even longer. And that’s after picking up a lot of basic skating skills in Wreckers or Derby 101 classes. Once you get drafted, you may have to wait a while before you get rostered for an actual game. And when you do get rostered, your audience is not a cluster of your friends and locals sitting on bleachers at a high school gym–you’re taking your first strides into real derby gameplay for thousands of fans, at Memorial-frickin’-Coliseum.

The way things run in a large, competitive league like this one, it can be pretty easy to get intimidated by it all. Fortunately, the joy of playing derby eclipses any of the terror we might feel, if we just give it the chance. I’m expecting Saturday’s bout to be that way, too. 🙂

So, yes, I’ll soon be playing in my first bout with my team. I know that I’ll be a relief player, so I probably won’t get a lot of play time, but you know what? I’m going to be out there, in my shiny new uniform, being introduced over the loudspeaker. And I’ll be right there, on the bench, ready to support my team when they need me–whether that means pumping them up, calming them down, or skating alongside them, I’ll be ready to give them my best.

It’s going to be GREAT.

Leave a Reply

