Improvement

Sometimes, I am good at things. 😀

One of the things I’m not at all good at, however, is accepting recognition. I rarely know how to respond to compliments, and I NEVER brag. People making a big deal out of something I’ve done tends to make me a bit uncomfortable, even while it gives me a sense of validation. The vast majority of the attention I received from my peers as I grew up was negative, and I’m not exaggerating when I say this.

Coming from that, attention still sometimes feels a little scary–even when it’s the positive kind. It’s not as bad as it used to be, but it’s there, every once in a while.

Fortunately, now I’m lucky enough to have a really awesome set of people supporting me, and helping me push past that discomfort. People who tell me I’m great even when I don’t feel particularly great, people who hug me when things seem impossible, people who challenge me so that so I can reach higher, and people who remind me that it’s okay to show a little pride when I’ve worked hard for something.

So, yeah, um, this is a Big Deal to me. Thank you to everyone who’s been there and helped make this possible. And, You’re Welcome for my not being at the League Picnic to accept this award, because I’d have probably done a whole lot of ugly-crying. 😉

1536589_10152456162473347_5896124999379452212_n

One response to “Improvement

  1. Lisa Lavelle

    Love this, Spocker!!

Leave a Reply

