Do The Thing, Win The Points

SO. There was a moment, on a Sunday a couple of years ago, when I was at a late brunch with friends. At one point, I paused to look up WFTDA playoffs results on my phone. Then, someone on the table wanted to ask me a question, and I said, “oh, hang on, I gotta check my scores.”

And then, with a vague sense of horror, I thought, “oh my god. I’ve officially become a SPORTS PERSON.” Granted, it was fandom towards an alternative sport, but, still. Sports Person. Gak. Didn’t see that coming.

But, yeah, after a second or two, I got over it. And, XKCD has nailed it here. While I don’t especially enjoy football, and usually find televised sportsball of any kind to be incredibly slow and entirely too commercial-filled, I don’t plan on making fun of people just because THEY like sportsball things.

And, maybe next time I get a little too loud about derby, or Star Trek, or bad type design, or whatever else, other folks will understand it a bit better, too. 🙂

[Link to source page]

Leave a Reply

